Nobel Prize in Chemistry to be announced tomorrow!!

Time has again come to announce the most prestigious awards in the world-the Nobel Prize. October is the month to announce most anticipated prizes. Two (Nobel for medicine and physics) prizes have been already given for this year of 2009. Nobel in physics has been awarded for groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibers for optical communication (to Charles K. Kao-1/2 of the money) and for the invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit – the CCD sensor (Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith-each will receive 1/4th of the money). Whereas Nobel for Medicine or physiology went for the discovery of how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase to Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Carol W. Greider and Jack W. Szostak. It is interesting to note that the discoveries made both in physics and medicine were couple of decades back.

Nobel prize in chemistry will be announced tomorrow-Wednesday, October 7, 2009) at 11.45AM CET, 9.45AM GMT, 2.45AM PST (west coast of the USA) and 3.30PM Nepal time during a press conference at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm. The announcement is web cast live at Nobelprize.org

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry had been awarded 100 times to 154 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2008. A total of 153 individuals have received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. You can see the list of chemistry Nobel laureates here.

Last years Nobel in Chemistry was awarded for the discovery of green fluorescent protein.

Lets wait and see who will grab this years chemistry Nobel.

No comments: